NU 510 Community Based Nursing - Guide to Resources

The Global Nursing Caucus advances the role of nurses in global health. Through information exchange on international health policy, practice, and education, and community building, the GNC hopes to improve the quality, efficacy, and visibility of the care delivered by the nursing community across the globe.

Collection of tools and links to various resources. Sponsored by Partners in Information Access for the Public Health Workforce, which is a collaboration of U.S. government agencies, public health organizations, and health sciences libraries. Their goal is to provide timely, convenient access to selected public health resources on the Internet.

Interactive world map showing disease outbreaks. Sponsored by Boston Children's Hospital, the system monitors, organizes, integrates, filters, visualizes and disseminates online information about emerging diseases in nine languages, facilitating early detection of global public health threats.

MCHB promotes the health and well-being of women, children and families by providing national leadership in the advancement and use of scientific knowledge to inform Maternal and Child Health (MCH) research. We do this in partnership with state and local MCH programs, academic institutions, professional organizations, and other federal government agencies.

The Epidemiology Branch addresses the mission of the NIEHS by applying and extending the tools of epidemiology to study the effects of the environment on human health.

Provides information on cancer statistics in an effort to reduce the cancer burden among the U.S. population

Epidemiology is the study of the distribution and determinants of health-related states or events (including disease), and the application of this study to the control of diseases and other health problems. Various methods can be used to carry out epidemiological investigations: surveillance and descriptive studies can be used to study distribution; analytical studies are used to study determinants.

Links to general info, publications, statistics, programs and more related to the global burden of disease.

Chronic diseases are responsible for 7 of 10 deaths each year, and treating people with chronic diseases accounts for 86% of our nation’s health care costs. Find out how CDC’s chronic disease prevention system brings together data, health care systems, and communities to support healthy choices and reduce risk behaviors for all Americans.

The Resource Center provides a host of tools to support environmental changes that address obesity and tobacco use. These resources describe why environmental changes are at the heart of making healthy living easier, and how to execute them. Tools include webinars, model policies, tool kits, databases, fact sheets, and other practical materials.

Role of epidemiology and public health at the CDC.

FastStats provides quick access to data from the National Center for Health Statistics. Topics include diseases and conditions, injuries, life stages and populations, health care and insurance, births, and deaths.

The National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) compiles statistical information that is used in research by a broad audience including health professionals, policy makers, physicians, health providers, and students.

Self-study course on epidemiology

Provides health status, demographic, and disease risk factor information for program planning and policy development.

The Epidemiology Program helps protect the residents of the Commonwealth from foodborne illnesses, emerging infectious illnesses, and other communicable diseases.

Kaiser is a non-profit organization focusing on national health issues, as well as the U.S. role in global health policy

U.S. Global Health Budget Tracker provides regularly updated information on U.S. government funding for global health. It includes historical trends and tracks funding levels throughout the appropriations process. Data can be customized by U.S. Agency, Program Area, and Initiative.