CINAHL Ultimate is the new definitive resource for nursing and allied health research, providing full text for more of the most used journals in the CINAHL index than any other database. It covers more than 50 nursing specialties and includes quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, CEU modules and research instruments.
MEDLINE Ultimate offers medical professionals and researchers access to unmatched evidence-based and peer-reviewed full-text content from more of the top biomedical journals. It also offers more international journal coverage than any other MEDLINE database.
UpToDate is a clinical resource designed to assist with diagnosis and treatment. Information is presented in the form of topic reviews, each one addressing a particular clinical issue; those on treatment or management topics include recommendations.
A mobile version, called UpToDate Anywhere, is available. Users must register for an account through the regular UpToDate database.
Other Recommended Databases
When you need to expand your search beyond CINAHL, the databases listed below are great places to start.
Published by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists, includes more than a thousand drug information studies written in lay language for consumers. Content is updated monthly. Available in English and Spanish.
BioMed Central is an STM (Science, Technology and Medicine) publisher of 265 peer-reviewed open access journals. The portfolio of journals spans all areas of biology, biomedicine and medicine and includes broad interest titles, such as BMC Biology and BMC Medicine alongside specialist journals, such as Retrovirology and BMC Genomics.
This database covers scholarly research and information to meet the needs of education students, professionals, and policy makers. This massive file offers the world's largest and most complete collection of full-text education journals, and encompasses an international array of English-language periodicals, monographs, yearbooks, and more.
The largest education database in the world, contains over 1.3 million citations for journal articles, books, research papers, conference papers, technical papers, dissertations & other materials. Provides full text for over 300,000 of these items. Most journals are peer-reviewed. Sponsored by U.S. government (Dept. of Ed.)
This resource provides over 500 scholarly full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Topics include: Critical Care; Mental Health Child & Adolescent Psychiatric Nursing; Nurse Management; Nurse Ethics; Addiction & Recovery Counseling; Medical Law; Reproductive Medicine; Environmental Health; Bereavement; & many more.
Natural Medicines (formerly known as Natural Standard) aggregates and synthesizes data on complementary and alternative therapies. Using a comprehensive methodology and grading scales, information is created that is evidence-based, consensus-based, and peer-reviewed.
This database contains abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations. It contains approximately 3 million citations and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s with DOIs for over 1.4 million records. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to present, includes international material selected from around 2,400 periodicals in dozens of languages.
PubMed comprises more than 20 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text includes thorough coverage in the subjects most relevant to sports medicine, fitness & nutrition.
Includes: Clinical specialties such as orthopedics Coaching and education Consumer health Exercise science and fitness Health education Kinesiology Nutrition Occupational health and safety Physical education Physical therapy Sports sciences