Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Environmental Studies Resources

Search Options

The following options are available to search for articles and other media such as ebooks, images, streaming video:

PowerSearch

  • PowerSearch allows you to search many (almost all) of the library’s resources with a single search query.
  • It searches our major databases plus online content that is available through Open Access.
When should I use PowerSearch?
  • PowerSearch is a “best bet” when you are not sure how to start searching for your topic.
  • PowerSearch is great for when your topic could be covered in multiple subject databases.
  • PowerSearch can be very helpful when you have searched other databases but are still not finding enough information on your topic.

Databases A to Z

Another option is to search individual databases.  Databases may be multi-disciplinary, covering many topics, or they may be subject specific, covering only one topic.

When should I search a specific database?
  • As you move along in your academic career you will become familiar with various databases within your discipline.  For example, EBSCO's PsycInfo and PsycArticles are heavily used by students majoring in Psychology.  When you are looking for information within a specific field, it is often more effective to search a single database that covers that topic.  Librarians can help you with this.
  • One of the advantages to searching a subject specific database is that there are more ways to refine and limit your search, producing more focused results.
  • For those new to research, a "best bet" database is Academic Search Complete.  This database is very large and covers many topics.

 

New to research?  Just getting started?  Try these...

 

Keywords

When searching library databases, use keywords or keyword phrases instead of sentences. 

Here are some examples to consider using.

Deforestation

  • forest conservation
  • deforestation
  • forest policy
  • reforestation
  • REDD

Air pollution

  • emissions
  • air quality
  • greenhouse gases
  • global warming

Water pollution

  • water quality
  • sewage disposal
  • water supply
  • industrial wastes
  • groundwater
  • oil spills

Overfishing

  • fish industry
  • fisheries management
  • marine resources conservation

Desertification

  • sustainable development
  • ecosystem
  • droughts
  • desertification AND Africa

Habitat destruction & fragmentation

  • fragmented landscapes
  • habitat fragmentation
  • habitat destruction

 

Combine keywords (using AND):

oil spills AND water

forests AND sustainability

deforestation AND (Amazon OR Brazil)

Viewpoints Databases

The following two databases are "best bets" to get started on your research on the environment and climate change.

Opposing Viewpoints is a great place to get started on research.  It presents articles and other information that debate the pros and cons of current and controversial topics.  Browse a topic list or search using keywords.

Global Issues in Context presents topics from a non-U.S. perspective. Designed to support global awareness, Global Issues In Context ties together a wealth of authoritative content that empowers students to critically analyze and understand the most important issues of the modern world.