Research Guides: Nutrition: Websites

Finding Information You Can Trust

Finding nutrition information on the web is easy. Finding good, reliable, credible information can be another story. Be very careful when reviewing websites. How can you find information you can trust? Ask yourself these questions:

Who sponsors the website? What gives this sponsor the authority to say what they are saying? Should you believe it? What are their credentials? Are they qualified to write on this topic?
What is the purpose of the website and the sponsoring organization? Are they trying to sell, promote, educate, inform, entertain, or persuade? Be aware of bias.
Is the website current and is it being maintained? Are there copyright dates or other dates indicating the age of the information? Are there broken links?

Federal Government Websites

CDC: Nutrition
From the Centers for Disease Control, data, statistics, guidelines, strategies, resources & publications about nutrition.
Center for Nutrition Policy & Promotions
The USDA Center for Nutrition Policy and Promotion works to improve the health and well-being of Americans by developing and promoting dietary guidance that links scientific research to the nutrition needs of consumers.
Food and Nutrition Information Center
USDA website that provides information about food and human nutrition.
FoodData Central
FoodData Central is an integrated data system that provides expanded nutrient profile data and links to related agricultural and experimental research.
FoodSafety.gov
The U.S. Department of Health and Human Services' official website on food safety.
Healthy People 2020
Healthy People provides science-based, 10-year national objectives for improving the health of all Americans. Topics include Nutrition & Weight Status.
MedLine Plus: Dietary Supplements
Overview on dietary supplements, including the latest research.
MedLine Plus: Food & Nutrition
Reliable information on food & nutrition, organized alphabetically by topic.
MedLine Plus: Medical Encyclopedia
The A.D.A.M. Medical Encyclopedia includes over 4,000 articles about diseases, tests, symptoms, injuries, and surgeries. It also contains an extensive library of medical photographs and illustrations.
National Heart, Lung & Blood Institute: Health Topics
Health Topics provides science-based, plain-language information related to heart, lung, and blood diseases and conditions and sleep disorders. The site contains articles on diseases, conditions, tests, procedures, and other relevant topics.
NNLM: Food for Thought: Exploring Nutrition Information Resources
Resources presented by the National Network of Libraries of Medicine
NNLM: Research & Statistics Resources
From the National Network of Libraries of Medicine, links to current research and statistics
President's Council on Fitness, Sports & Nutrition
The President’s Council engages, educates, and empowers all Americans to adopt a healthy lifestyle that includes regular physical activity and good nutrition.
U. S. Food and Drug Administration
Offers information on food safety, nutrition, government regulations and programs.

State Government Websites

Mass.gov - Food & Nutrition
Information about Massachusetts food programs that offer access to free or low cost food to help eligible people meet their basic needs.
School Nutrition Association
The School Nutrition Association of Massachusetts is dedicated to educating, supporting and inspiring school nutrition professionals.

International Nutrition Information

The International Food Information Council (IFIC)
IFIC Foundation is dedicated to the mission of effectively communicating science-based information on health, nutrition and food safety for the public good.
World Health Organization (WHO) - Nutrition
The WHO is the United Nations public health arm. This website has information about healthy diet, breastfeeding, malnutrition and more.

Other Websites

The Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics
Features healthy weight, food safety and health information from world's largest organization of food and nutrition professionals.
American Cancer Society - Diet and Physical Activity
Facts on how diet, physical activity, excess body weight, and alcohol use may affect your risk of cancer.
American Council on Science and Health
A consumer education consortium concerned with issues related to food, nutrition, chemicals, pharmaceuticals, lifestyle, the environment and health. Some critics say ACSH is biased in favor of the food industry.
American Diabetes Association
Information about food and fitness for people with diabetes.
American Heart Association - Nutrition
Recommendations to make smart choices and eat healthy, in order to benefit your heart and your overall health.
American Lung Association
For more than a century, the American Lung Association has led the fight for healthy lungs and healthy air. Today, we are focused on eliminating tobacco use and related lung disease, improving overall air quality for all and reducing the burden of lung disease on patients and their families.
ASPEN: American Society for Parenteral and Enteral Nutrition
ASPEN is dedicated to improving patient care by advancing the science and practice of clinical nutrition and metabolism. Founded in 1976, ASPEN is an interdisciplinary organization whose members are involved in the provision of clinical nutrition therapies, including parenteral and enteral nutrition.
Center for Science in the Public Interest (CSPI)
The Center for Science in the Public Interest has been providing advice and advocacy toward a healthier food system since its founding in 1971.
CSPI publishes Nutrition Action Healthletter and NutritionAction.com and leads action across the country on nutrition, food safety, and health. Some critics say CSPI is biased against the food industry.
National Kidney Foundation
The National Kidney Foundation is the leading organization in the U.S. dedicated to the awareness, prevention and treatment of kidney disease for hundreds of thousands of healthcare professionals, millions of patients and their families, and tens of millions of Americans at risk.
The Nutrition Source (Harvard University)
The Nutrition Source is a leading authority on food and nutrition knowledge, providing science-based guidance for healthy living. Based at the Harvard T. H. Chan School of Public Health’s Department of Nutrition, The Nutrition Source offers comprehensive nutrition information through timely articles and FAQ’s.
Oldways: Inspiring Good Health Through Cultural Food Traditions
Oldways is a nonproﬁt food and nutrition education organization, with a mission to inspire healthy eating through cultural food traditions and lifestyles.
Vegetarian Diet: How to Get the Best Nutrition
From the Mayo Clinic. A well-planned vegetarian diet is a healthy way to meet your nutritional needs. Find out what you need to know about a plant-based diet.