Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
- Searching library databases is different from Google. It is more like shopping on Amazon or eBay. Enter your search terms and then refine your results by setting limiters.
- It takes practice to get really good at searching. If you run a search and do not get the results you expect, ask the library for help.
- Note: If you search the databases from off-campus, use your Moodle username and password to login.
The following options are available to search for articles and other media such as ebooks, images, streaming video:
- PowerSearch allows you to search many (almost all) of the library’s resources with a single search query.
- It searches our major databases plus online content that is available through Open Access.
When should I use PowerSearch?
- PowerSearch is a “best bet” when you are not sure how to start searching for your topic.
- PowerSearch is great for when your topic could be covered in multiple subject databases.
- PowerSearch can be very helpful when you have searched other databases but are still not finding enough information on your topic.
Databases A to Z
Another option is to search individual databases. Databases may be multi-disciplinary, covering many topics, or they may be subject specific, covering only one topic.
When should I search a specific database?
- As you move along in your academic career you will become familiar with various databases within your discipline. For example, EBSCO's PsycInfo and PsycArticles are heavily used by students majoring in Psychology. When you are looking for information within a specific field, it is often more effective to search a single database that covers that topic. Librarians can help you with this.
- One of the advantages to searching a subject specific database is that there are more ways to refine and limit your search, producing more focused results.
- For those new to research, a "best bet" database is Academic Search Complete. This database is very large and covers many topics.
New to research? Just getting started? Try these...
Academic Search Complete
Best bet for general research. Covers many topics, millions of articles. Peer-reviewed (scholarly) and general interest periodicals. Much of this is full text.
New York Times
Search the full text of The New York Times starting in 1995. (Does NOT include the Book Review.)
Great database to browse for topic ideas!!
Covers today’s hottest social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration. Opposing Viewpoints helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more.