Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Business Management

Guide to resources for course assignments.

Databases

Looking for peer-reviewed articles, business reports and company profiles?

Nexis Uni-- from LexisNexis

Nexis Uni -- one of the premier sources of business information.

How is your product or company portrayed in the media?  Find out here.

Boston Public Library Online Resources

The Boston Public Library provides access to several useful business databases.

The resources of the Boston Public Library are available to all Massachusetts residents.  To access them you must obtain an e-card which you can do online. You will be prompted for your e-card username and password to access the following databases.

Mergent Online  A wealth of detail on items including business description, history, property, subsidiaries, officers and directors, long-term debt and capital stock. 12,000 companies listed on the NYSE, AMEX and Nasdaq exchanges and 20,000 international companies.

Morningstar Investment Research Center Morningstar, Inc. is the premier source of unbiased information for thousands of mutual funds; the company is also a respected source of information on stocks.  Provides complete reports for approximately 2,000 funds and 1,000 stocks.  Quicktake Reports, which include portfolio, risk, performance, and management information, are available for approximately 13,000 funds and 8,000 stocks

Gale Directory Library is useful for finding revenue & comparing companies by industry or locations.  Allows you to sort by any field, export data for further analysis. Includes:

  • Market Share Reporter
  • Ward's Business Directory of Private and Public Companies in Canada and Mexico
  • Ward's Business Directory of U.S. Private and Public Companies
  • Business Rankings Annual
  • Encyclopedia of Business Information Sources
  • Information Industry Directory

Gale Virtual Reference Library contains many highly regarded business encyclopedias including:

  • Encyclopedia of American Industries
  • Encyclopedia of Emerging Industries
  • Encyclopedia of Global Brands
  • Encyclopedia of Global Industries
  • Encyclopedia of Major Marketing Strategies
  • Encyclopedia of Products & Industries - Manufacturing
  • International Directory of Company Histories

Statistical Insight (ProQuest)

ProQuest Statistical Insight is a database that indexes and abstracts statistical publications and provides direct access to over 400,000 statistical tables. Please keep in mind that indexing is done at the publication level, not the table level.

It is the electronic version of what was originally three different print indexes. You will still see the abbreviations for the indexes (ASI, SRI, IIS) in the publication record numbers.

  1. American Statistics Index (ASI): Federal Sources
    Statistics from all brances and agencies of the federal government.
  2. Statistical Reference Index (SRI): State and Private Sector Sources
    Statistics from state government agencies, private organizations, consumer and trade publications, business organizations, independent research organizations, and university research centers.
  3. Index to International Statistics (IIS): International Intergovernmental Organizations
    Statistics from international intergovernmental organizations such as the United Nations, Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development, the European Union, the International Monetary Fund and many others.