Research Guides: History Resources: Getting Started

Scholarly subject encyclopedias and dictionaries are excellent starting places for research! You can also find background information using both our print and electronic resources.

On the Shelf: Dictionaries/Atlases

Dictionary of Mexican American History by Matt S. Meier; Feliciano Rivera
Call Number: Reference E184.M5 M453
ISBN: 0313212031
Publication Date: 1981
Topics included are not only people, places, and events, but laws, treaties, and organizations
Historical Atlas of the United States by Derek Hayes
Call Number: ATLAS CASE
ISBN: 9780520250369
Publication Date: 2006-10-17
Using more than five hundred historical maps from collections around the world, this stunning book is the first to tell the story of America's past from a unique geographical perspective.
Atlas of World History by Patrick K. O'Brien (Editor)
Call Number: ATLAS CASE
ISBN: 0195215672
Publication Date: 1999
Oxford's Atlas of World History is an intensive work by a specialist team of scholars, editors, and cartographers. It presents the story of humanity in its physical setting, from the emergence of the earliest hominoids to the present day.

On the Shelf: Encyclopedias

Because the field of History is so broad, these titles represent a small sample of the reference materials we have available in the Regis College Library.

Concise Princeton Encyclopedia of American Political History by Michael Kazin (Editor); Rebecca Edwards (Editor); Adam Rothman (Editor)
Call Number: E 183 .C74 2011
ISBN: 9780691152073
Publication Date: 2011
This multicontributor encyclopedia covers the evolution of American politics from the country's founding to 2008
Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present by Paul Finkelman (Editor)
Call Number: E185 .E5453 2009 v1-3
ISBN: 9780195167795
Publication Date: 2009
The Cambridge Ancient History by I. E. S. Edwards (Editor); C. J. Gadd (Editor); N. G. L. Hammond (Editor)
ISBN: 9780521070515
Publication Date: 1970

Books in the Catalog

Empires in World History by Jane Burbank; Frederick Cooper
Call Number: D 32 .B94 2010
ISBN: 9780691127088
Publication Date: 2010
Empires in World History departs from conventional European and nation-centered perspectives to take a remarkable look at how empires relied on diversity to shape the global order. Beginning with ancient Rome and China and continuing across Asia, Europe, the Americas, and Africa, Jane Burbank and Frederick Cooper examine empires' conquests, rivalries, and strategies of domination.
Reconstruction by Brooks D. Simpson (Editor)
Call Number: E668.R4245 S56 2018
ISBN: 9781598535556
Publication Date: 2018
The defeat of the Confederacy and the adoption of the Thirteenth Amendment in 1865 brought about the final destruction of slavery in the United States. Americans were confronted for the first time with the possibility of creating a republic dedicated to the principle of racial equality.

eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)

eBook Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
EBSCO eBooks are online versions of print books that your library has either purchased with a perpetual license or via an annual subscription. eBooks that are owned will be available to the library in perpetuity, with provisions being made for long term access and preservation

Google Book Search

Google Book Search
Search Google Books for even more books. Once you perform a search you can click on Search tools on the result list, then click on the Any books pull down menu and select Free Google eBooks for free full text books.

History Books Library of Congress Classification

Quick Guide to the Library of Congress Classification System for History

If you're not sure exactly what you're looking for, you may find it useful to browse the shelves at the following call number locations. Located on the 2nd floor of the library.

Call No.	Subject Area
C-F	HISTORY
C	History, Auxiliary Sciences of
CB	History of Civilization
CC	Archaeology
CT	Biography
D	History, General and Old World
DA	Great Britain
DC	France
DC	France
DD	Germany
DE	Classical Antiquity
DF	Greece
DG	Italy
DK	Russia
DP	Spain
DS	Asia
DT	Africa
E-F	History of America, including United States and Mexico
FC	1 - 4200 Canada