For more help on this topic, please contact our Research Help Desk: reference@regiscollege.edu or 781-768-7303. Stay up-to-date on our current hours. Note: all hours are EST.
While books are very important, historians also publish their work in articles in academic journals. And the easiest way to find journal articles is to search a bibliographic database that covers your topic. You can search for periodical articles by the author, title, or keyword by using databases in your subject area.
Ask at the reference desk if you need help figuring out which ones are best.
World History in Context reaches back to the ancient world – and forward to today’s headlines – to deliver a chronicle of the great cultures and societies that have formed the history of the human race. Rare primary sources, reliable reference and multimedia content put this vast topic into context .
Best bet for general research. Covers many topics, millions of articles. Peer-reviewed (scholarly) and general interest periodicals. Much of this is full text.
This database indexes and abstracts articles from periodicals published in the U.S. and elsewhere plus the full-text of selected periodicals. Subjects covered include addiction studies, community health and medical care, corrections, criminal justice, economics, environmental studies, and urban studies.
A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Millions of full-text articles,
Both multidisciplinary and discipline-specific journal collections are offered. Make sure “Content I can access” option is selected to see free and open access content.
Nexis Uni, replaced LexisNexis Academic Universe. Access to over 10,000 news, business, and legal sources. Coverage includes deep back files and up-to-the-minute stories in national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources. Detailed company information and financial performance measures and also allows one to identify and compare companies matching specific criteria. Access to primary source material such as case law, statutes and regulations as well as secondary source materials such as legal news or law reviews.
If we don't have the book or article you need, we can get it for you! Go to Interlibrary Loan (ILL) to request an item.
For students, faculty, and staff, the ILL service is free.