Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Information Sources: Choosing and Finding the Right Source

Search Options

The following options are available to search for articles and other media such as ebooks, images, and streaming video:

Databases A to Z

Your first option is to search individual databases.  Databases may be multi-disciplinary, covering many topics, or they may be subject specific, covering only one topic.

When should I search a specific database?
  • As you move along in your academic career you will become familiar with various databases within your discipline.  By the time you are a graduate student you should be familiar with these databases. For example, health professions such as Nursing should use CINAHL, MedLine (which is a subset of PubMed), and PsycInfo as well as others (depending on the research topic).
  •  When you are looking for information within a specific discipline, it is often more effective to search a single database that covers that topic. 
  • One of the advantages to searching a subject specific database is that there are more ways to refine and limit your search, producing more focused results.
  • Academic Search Complete is very large database and covers many topics.  Consider searching this database as well as your subject specific database if you are not finding enough results.

PowerSearch

  • PowerSearch allows you to search many (almost all) of the library’s resources with a single search query.
  • It searches our major databases plus online content that is available through Open Access.
When should I use PowerSearch?
  • PowerSearch is a “best bet” when you are not sure how to start searching for your topic.
  • PowerSearch is great for when your topic could be covered in multiple subject databases.
  • PowerSearch can be very helpful when you have searched other databases but are still not finding enough information on your topic.
  • Searching PowerSearch will yield a lot of results.  Be aware that it can be challenging to filter through a high volume of results to find the best ones for your research.

TIPS

  • Searching library databases is different from  Google. It is more like shopping on Amazon or eBay.  Enter your search terms and then refine your results by setting limiters.
  • It takes practice to get really good at searching.  If you run a search and do not get the results you expect, ask the library for help.
  • Note: If you search the databases from off-campus, use your Moodle username and password to login.