Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Homelessness - Guide to Researching Information About Homelessness

Search Options

The following options are available to search for articles and other media such as ebooks, images, streaming video:

PowerSearch

  • PowerSearch allows you to search many (almost all) of the library’s resources with a single search query.
  • It searches our major databases plus online content that is available through Open Access.
When should I use PowerSearch?
  • PowerSearch is a “best bet” when you are not sure how to start searching for your topic.
  • PowerSearch is great for when your topic could be covered in multiple subject databases.
  • PowerSearch can be very helpful when you have searched other databases but are still not finding enough information on your topic.

Databases A to Z

Another option is to search individual databases.  Databases may be multi-disciplinary, covering many topics, or they may be subject specific, covering only one topic.

 
Use the following databases to find scholarly articles and other information on homelessness.  EBSCO databases may be combined so that you can do one search using many databases.

 

 

Start with these keywords and keyword phrases.  Once you find an article or two that works for you, look at the keywords or subject terms that are used in that article and run another search using those.

homelessness homeless persons homeless shelters housing policy
runaway youth veterans children mental health
public welfare runaway youth street children homeless estimates
emergency shelter      

 

Peer Reviewed Articles?

Does your assignment require that one or more of your sources come from peer-reviewed journals?  The chart below explains the difference between scholarly/peer-reviewed sources and sources that come from the popular press (those typically found in a bookstore or newsstand).

Scholarly vs. Popular Sources

 

Scholarly

Popular

Written by: Researchers -- experts such as scientists, physicians, historians.  Most are employed by colleges and universities but not all. Staff writers, journalists, bloggers.  Authors of articles may not always be identified.
Audience: Other experts in the same discipline. Articles are a way of sharing knowledge among peers.  While college students read a lot of peer-reviewed articles, they are actually written to communicate with other other researchers! General readers. These sources can be found on a newsstand or in a bookstore.
Vocabulary/Language Serious, formal, dense. Uses specialized terminology of the profession. No special language. Easy to read.
Quality control: Peer-reviewed. This means other researchers within the same discipline have reviewed the article for quality. Edited by publisher.
Purpose: To communicate research findings and results of studies.  News. Entertainment.
Appearance/Design: Little to no advertising. Charts & graphs. No illustrations or photos.  Mostly text. Glossy, attractive design. Advertising.
Length of article: Long. 10 pages or more is typical. Short. Feature articles may be longer.
Publication frequency: Typically infrequent. Monthly or quarterly publication is common. Daily, weekly, monthly.  Varies by publication.
Cost: Expensive.  Often found in libraries & library databases. Inexpensive, affordable.
Format: Often includes descriptive title, abstract, literature reviews, methodologies, results & conclusions. Each discipline has its own standards for communicating research but all articles include a list of references.  All research is based on prior research. No special format. Typically does not list references although there are some exceptions.
Examples:

New England Journal of Medicine.

Journal of Health, Population & Nutrition.

Nicotine & Tobacco Research.

The New York Times

The Economist

Prevention Magazine

Psychology Today

People Magazine

National Enquirer