CINAHL Ultimate is the new definitive resource for nursing and allied health research, providing full text for more of the most used journals in the CINAHL index than any other database. It covers more than 50 nursing specialties and includes quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, CEU modules and research instruments.
MEDLINE Ultimate offers medical professionals and researchers access to unmatched evidence-based and peer-reviewed full-text content from more of the top biomedical journals. It also offers more international journal coverage than any other MEDLINE database.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text includes thorough coverage in the subjects most relevant to sports medicine, fitness & nutrition.
Health & Wellness Resource Center delivers up-to-date reference material as well as full-text magazines, journals, and pamphlets from a wide variety of authoritative medical sources.
This resource provides over 500 scholarly full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Topics include: Critical Care; Mental Health Child & Adolescent Psychiatric Nursing; Nurse Management; Nurse Ethics; Addiction & Recovery Counseling; Medical Law; Reproductive Medicine; Environmental Health; Bereavement; & many more.
All aspects of the Nursing profession -- from direct patient care to health care administration -- are covered in this collection. Including nearly 400 titles, this collection's current and authoritative content will be of use to both professionals already working in the field as well as students pursuing a nursing-focused curriculum.
PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
MeSH is the National Library of Medicine's controlled vocabulary thesaurus.
Each bibliographic reference is associated with a set of MeSH terms that are assigned to describe the content of an article.
Best bet for general research. Covers many topics, millions of articles. Peer-reviewed (scholarly) and general interest periodicals. Much of this is full text.
UpToDate is a clinical resource designed to assist with diagnosis and treatment. Information is presented in the form of topic reviews, each one addressing a particular clinical issue; those on treatment or management topics include recommendations.
A mobile version, called UpToDate Anywhere, is available. Users must register for an account through the regular UpToDate database.
This type of citation searching looks backwards in time. It starts with an article, often a fairly recent one, and looks back at the articles in the reference list. It is sometimes called the ascendancy approach (because it searches backward from an ascendant). It starts with a current article, and searches for articles that were written BEFORE the current article. These articles were used by the authors when conducting their research on the current article.