Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

NU 635: Complementary Therapies: Finding Articles

This Research Guide will show you how to use Natural Medicines (formerly Natural Standard), a database that includes high-quality, evidence-based information about complementary and alternative medicine. It also has pointers on search background informati

Finding Full-Text Articles through Natural Standard

Clicking on one of the references in Natural Medicines will bring you to the article's abstract (or brief description) in PubMed, another database.  Like Natural Medicines, PubMed does not contain full-text articles.  But it can bring you one step closer to finding the article you want.

Some articles are very easy to find in full-text, while others can be a little tricky.  It all depends on who owns the rights to the article and whether it's included in one of the databases Regis College subscribes to.  You'll be able to access many articles right away through Regis' subscriptions, but others you'll have to request through Interlibrary Loan (see below).

When you find a citation that interests you in Natural Medicines, follow the link to PubMed (see the References tab in this research guide for more information).  Then follow the steps below to locate your article.

Tip: Finding an article in full-text sometimes requires detective work, and it can be very confusing.  If you're having trouble, please email a Reference Librarian or call 781-768-7303.  They're the experts on tracking down articles, and they're always happy to help!

Access Full Text via PubMed

PubMed is a citation and abstract database.  It does not contain any full text (entire articles).  However, it is sometimes possible to "link" to a full-text article.  How?

1.  Click on anything that says "Full Text."  Sometimes it will say FREE, and sometimes it won't.  Some publishers such as PMC are free, even if that is not indicated. 

Caution:  Sometimes you'll see a link to the full-text, but you'll be asked to sign in or pay for the article.  The library can get most articles for free through Interlibrary Loan (see below), so you should always check with the library.  Do not pay to access an article.

2.  Click on the icon that says "Library Holdings."  This means Regis has the article in one of its subscription databases and you can access it. 

3.  If there is no access to the full text of the article, you may be able to obtain it through Interlibrary Loan. 

  • Cut and paste the title of the article and other information such as author, publication date, journal title, into the Interlibrary Loan request form.  Once you submit your request we will try to find the article at another library and will notify you when we have it.

 

Interlibrary Loan

When you can't find the full-text of an article for FREE, you can request it through Interlibrary Loan.  If we can locate the article for you (and we usually can), we will send it to you electronically within a few days. 

PowerSearch

If you can't find a free link to an article through PubMed, try the Regis Library PowerSearch.  Copy the title of the article from the citation and open the Regis College Library homepage in your browser.  Find the PowerSearch box in the top left corner of the page and paste the article title there.  Press Search.