Public Health - Guide to Internet & Library Sources

Original papers, reviews, news, and notes about various forms of addiction.

Features original research and review articles on every aspect of alcohol and alcoholism.

The American Journal of Health Promotion (AJHP) is a peer-reviewed journal advancing the science of health behavior change and the art of creating a culture of well-being. Established in 1986, AJHP provides a forum for the eclectic disciplines that improve workplace, school and community health.

Articles of original research, research methods, program evaluations, analytic reviews, including health policy analysis and reports on health policy.

The scientific journal of the World Health Organization. Presents original research findings on worldwide human health problems.

Focuses on increasing understanding about cancer causes, prevention & control; covers topics in evaluation methods, early detection, accurate diagnosis, risk factors, etc.

Published to research findings of environmental health significance and inform the scientific community of potential health hazards that are associated with particular elements in the environment.

Covers epidemiology health services research, management & administration, ethics & law, health economics, information sciences, social & behavioral sciences & environmental health.

Focuses on the broad disciplines of family medicine and primary care in the United States and beyond.

Committed to the exploration of policy issues in the domestic and international health arenas. Contains papers from industry, labor, government and academia. Also contains book reviews.

Aims to promote critical thinking and informed debate about all aspects of public participation in health care and health policy. Topics include involvement of patients and their advocates in decisions about individual health care, etc.

Original, empirical studies of important health services issues and problems, major policy issues, alternatives and implications aimed at health services researchers, policy makers and practitioners in the health sector.

Contains original research results in the area defined by the indoor environment of non-industrial buildings.

Covers epidemiology of infectious and non-infectious diseases, with research into health services and medical care, and with new methods, statistical or otherwise, for the analysis of data used by those who practice social and preventive medicine.

The International Journal of Health Services is a peer-reviewed journal that contains articles on health and social policy, political economy and sociology, history and philosophy, ethics and law in the areas of health and well-being.

A multidisciplinary scientific Journal, which seeks to publish new research findings in the field of Adolescent Medicine and Health ranging from the basic biological and behavioral sciences to public health and policy.

Features scholarly contributions on all aspects of nursing care and nursing education, management and research which have a sound scientific, theoretical or philosophical base.

Journal of Aging and Health (JAH) explores the complex and dynamic relationship between gerontology and health. Peer-reviewed and published 8 times per year, scholars present views and perspectives from a wide variety of disciplines, including Allied Health, Psychology, Public Health, Social Policy and Work, Epidemiology, Health Services Research, Sociology, and Nursing.

Aims at promoting the quality of clinical and patient-oriented health care research.

Presents research papers, original essays, reviews, editorial commentaries and letters relating to all aspects of community health, preventive medicine, public health, medical ethics and socioeconomic issues in health care.

Devoted to the publication of original research and reviews covering applied, methodological and theoretical issues with emphasis on studies using multidisciplinary or integrative approaches.

Publishes research important to exposure assessment for toxic substances, environmental epidemiology that includes a strong exposure analysis component & related disciplines that advance the exposure assessment process.

Reports new findings on issues pertinent to maternal, child and family health and related issues of population and nutrition.

Reports on the progress in clinical medicine research and developments in other areas related to medicine.

Perspectives in Public Health is a bi-monthly peer-reviewed journal. It is practice orientated and features current topics and opinions; news and views on current health issues; case studies; book reviews; letters to the Editor; as well as updates on the work of the Royal Society of Public Health.

Presents information for all in the public health field and is the official journal of the U.S. Public Health Service.

Qualitative Health Research (QHR) is a peer-reviewed monthly journal that provides an international, interdisciplinary forum to enhance health care and further the development and understanding of qualitative research in health-care settings.

Covers the nature and consequences of tobacco use worldwide; each issue contains a section dedicated to tobacco control in low and middle income countries supported by Bloomberg and the Gates Foundation.