Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Many areas outside of the traditional health and medicine disciplines address health studies topics. Therefore a wide range of databases is presented here. For example, the education database ERIC may be useful to explore health policies regarding youth and tobacco use. Business Source Complete offers articles on the analysis of health care costs and other economic issues. PsycArticles is a great resource for any kind of mental health research.
Health & Medicine
CINAHL Cumulative Index to NURSING & Allied Health Literature
CINAHL®Complete is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing & allied health literature. Access to over 1,300 full text journals.
Provides full text for more than 2,400 medical journals. Many of the most-used medical journals are available with no full-text article delay so users can access the information as soon as it’s published.
Health Source: Nursing & Academic Edition
This resource provides over 500 scholarly full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Topics include: Critical Care; Mental Health Child & Adolescent Psychiatric Nursing; Nurse Management; Nurse Ethics; Addiction & Recovery Counseling; Medical Law; Reproductive Medicine; Environmental Health; Bereavement; & many more.
Psychological & Social Sciences
This database contains abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations. It contains approximately 3 million citations and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s with DOIs for over 1.4 million records. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to present, includes international material selected from around 2,400 periodicals in dozens of languages. PsycArticles is the full text subset of PsycInfo.
This database, from the APA, is a source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. It contains approximately 150,000 articles from over 70 journals published by the APA.
Social Sciences Full Text
This database indexes and abstracts articles from periodicals published in the U.S. and elsewhere plus the full-text of selected periodicals. Subjects covered include addiction studies, community health and medical care, corrections, criminal justice, economics, environmental studies, and urban studies.
Business, Education & General
Academic Search Complete
Best bet for general research. Covers many topics, millions of articles. Peer-reviewed (scholarly) and general interest periodicals. Much of this is full text.
ERIC - Education Resources Information Center
The largest education database in the world, contains over 1.3 million citations for journal articles, books, research papers, conference papers, technical papers, dissertations & other materials. Provides full text for over 300,000 of these items. Most journals are peer-reviewed. Sponsored by U.S. government (Dept. of Ed.)