Many areas outside of the traditional health and medicine disciplines address health studies topics. Therefore a wide range of databases is presented here. For example, the education database ERIC may be useful to explore health policies regarding youth and tobacco use. Business Source Complete offers articles on the analysis of health care costs and other economic issues. PsycInfo is a great resource for any kind of mental health research.
CINAHL Ultimate is the new definitive resource for nursing and allied health research, providing full text for more of the most used journals in the CINAHL index than any other database. It covers more than 50 nursing specialties and includes quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, CEU modules and research instruments.
MEDLINE Ultimate offers medical professionals and researchers access to unmatched evidence-based and peer-reviewed full-text content from more of the top biomedical journals. It also offers more international journal coverage than any other MEDLINE database.
This resource provides over 500 scholarly full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Topics include: Critical Care; Mental Health Child & Adolescent Psychiatric Nursing; Nurse Management; Nurse Ethics; Addiction & Recovery Counseling; Medical Law; Reproductive Medicine; Environmental Health; Bereavement; & many more.
This database indexes and abstracts articles from periodicals published in the U.S. and elsewhere plus the full-text of selected periodicals. Subjects covered include addiction studies, community health and medical care, corrections, criminal justice, economics, environmental studies, and urban studies.
Best bet for general research. Covers many topics, millions of articles. Peer-reviewed (scholarly) and general interest periodicals. Much of this is full text.
The largest education database in the world, contains over 1.3 million citations for journal articles, books, research papers, conference papers, technical papers, dissertations & other materials. Provides full text for over 300,000 of these items. Most journals are peer-reviewed. Sponsored by U.S. government (Dept. of Ed.)