Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What does PowerSearch do?
PowerSearch allows you to search many (almost all) of the library’s resources with a single search query.
It searches our major databases plus online content that is available through Open Access.
When should I use PowerSearch?
A “best bet” when you are not sure how to start searching for your topic.
Great for when your topic could be covered in multiple subject databases.
Can be very helpful when you have searched other databases but are still not finding enough information on your topic.
Databases NOT searched in PowerSearch
Minuteman Library Catalog
Related Research Guides
Database Search Tutorial
Interactive tutorial that walks you through how to set up a search in EBSCO databases. Includes use of keywords, limiters, how to access results.
Databases Search Results-- It's all in the details
The results you see are more than just a title. Use this guide to catch the little details in your results. The details will tell you more information to make a better determination of the source's relevancy to your work.
Databases Searched Include*
- Academic Search Complete
- CINAHL – Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature
- Communication & Mass Media Complete
- Cochrane Library
- eBook collections
- Education Source
- ERIC – Education Research Information Center
- Films on Demand
- Health Source: Academic Collection
- Literature Resource Center
- Social Sciences Full Text
- Select journals purchased electronically
- Academic OneFile
- Biography In Context
- Business Insights: Essentials
- Opposing Viewpoints
- The New York Times (from 1985 onward)
- Nursing Resource Center
- General OneFile + more…
Open access databases such as
- PubMed Central
- Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
- British Library Ethos (Dissertations)
* This covers major databases searched but is not a complete list of databases searched.
Please Note: You may still choose to use individual databases for your searches. Individual databases such as CINAHL have specific features for querying and refining results that are not available in the PowerSearch
When using PowerSearch, remember to refine your results by using the Limiters on the left side of your results page!
Please note: If you are looking for a specific article, or looking to expand your results, make sure to uncheck "Regis Library Has It" to show additional indexed records.
- See two links in your results? Click on the first one (may say "AVAILABLE FULL TEXT"), as we might have the article in another database!