Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Faculty Guide to the Regis Library

Academic Advising, Accessibility Services, and the Finucane O'Sullivan Institute for Learning

Sources for Assignments

Librarians can help identify the best resources to be used for assignments.  We can work with you as you develop your assignments and we can work with you after they are in place. A Librarian would be glad to look over your syllabus and assignments and prepare a list of library resources to support your course. Keep in mind:

  • We can let you know which databases to suggest to your students, which journals we have, and which we don't carry.
  • We can gather reference books or other academic books to be available within the library for your class/assignment.
  • We can determine if the resources you are asking students to use are available in our collection.
  • Certain information is only available on the internet:  census data, government documents and statistics, for example.
  • Certain information is only available in the subscription databases, e.g., the majority of peer-reviewed journal articles.

Give us a call!

 

Linking to Articles

  • You may want to provide direct links to library resources, for example, in Moodle.  When linking to articles in databases, use the permalink.  This can be found in the EBSCO databases on the far right, under the heading Tools.  Copy and paste to use. 
  • A permalink is a persistent URL that consistently provides direct access to a particular web address.  For example, you can use the permalink to link directly to a full-text article in one of the subscription databases, such as MedLine. 
  • Permalinks are different from the URL in the browser's web address bar.  Those URLs are sometimes temporary and will disappear once you have logged out of your session.